top of page

L.G.

I have a hearing loss,

I rarely use my ears to hear,

It has never really affected me too much,

I have other methods to replace my ears,

I hear by reading lips,

By reading facial expressions,


There are no lips anymore,

There are no facial expressions,

There are simply masks,


Masks make words mumble out,

Masks have kept me in the house,

I go out and can tell someone is talking to me,

I stare back blankly,

I can’t even guess what they say anymore,


They make clear masks,

Thanks to the person making them,

The problem is I don’t need one,

I need others to have them,

Most won’t use them,

Claiming they get fogged up,

Which they sometimes do,


Most don’t know what it's like,

Most don’t struggle to hear without them,

Most think everyone is like them,

That everyone can hear just fine,

They could not be more wrong,


Submitted May 22, 2020.


Recent Posts

See All

Anonymous

Lockdown hasn’t been that bad for me. I’ve had a lot of time to relax and reflect; ponder and disinfect. Wander in my mind a little too far, get a little lost, unconfined to my thoughts. Delaying and

Anonymous, Class of 2022

I am only a sophomore in high school so due to everything happening, I wouldn't say I lost much but it's definitely been an eye opener to me. It was definitely hard to adjust to social distancing and

All content posted on this site is the property of the SLP COVID Quarantine Archive Project. Please do not copy, download, or embed any material without written permission from the SLP COVID Quarantine Archive. If you would like to get permission to copy or reproduce these materials in any format, please CONTACT US. Your cooperation allows us to protect student privacy and control the distribution of their personal reflections.

bottom of page